Liverpool Quartet

Liverpool Quartet

Thursday, 3 November 2022, 8.00pm

Music for Galway present in association with the National String Quartet Foundation

Róisín Walters violin
Sarah Hill violin
Dani Sanxis viola
Nick Byrne cello

ZEMLINSKY String Quartet No.1
SHOSTAKOVICH String Quartet No 3

Róisín Walters’ Liverpool Quartet brings an exciting and varied programme to Galway. Zemlinsky’s beautiful early masterpiece is very much in the genre of Brahmsian late romanticism. Shostakovich’s third quartet is a heart-breaking musical commentary on the futility and pain of war. Deirdre Gribbin’s magical and mysterious “Merrow Sang” from 2007 vividly recounts a tale of merrow-maidens emerging from the sea during the burial of one the Cantillon family of Ballyheigue.

WebsiteAdd a Listing
comments powered by Disqus

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.