Raphael Wallfisch & Simon Callaghan

Raphael Wallfisch & Simon Callaghan

Sunday, 9 April 2023, 6.30pm

A great friend of Prokofiev, Myaskovsky’s chamber music is rarely performed. We are delighted to welcome internationally-renowned cellist, Raphael Wallfisch to perform the Second Cello Sonata alongside Conway Hall Director of Music, Simon Callaghan. Myaskovsky’s works exhibit all the best trademarks of Russian music – yearning melodies, rich harmonies, and lots of virtuosity. For their Conway Hall recital, Wallfisch and Callaghan present the Myaskovsky sonata alongside two classics of the repertoire by Debussy and Franck, and an arrangement of Clara Schumann’s Three Romances, written in 1853 after an inspiring visit from Johannes Brahms.

”…the playing of Raphael Wallfisch is alive to the drama of the score… it’s really something special.”
MusicWeb International

Raphael Wallfisch (cello)
Simon Callaghan (piano)


Clara Schumann | Three Romances Op.22
Myaskovsky | Cello Sonata No.2 Op.81
Debussy | Cello Sonata L135
Franck | Cello Sonata

WebsiteAdd a Listing

Published by Conway Hall on 28 March 2023

comments powered by Disqus

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.