New Releases (4 January 2023)

Accordion and melodeon player Diarmuid Ó Meachair has released his debut album on Raelach Records.

New Releases (4 January 2023)

The Journal of Music's regular round-up of recent albums and singles, including Diarmuid Ó Meachair, Daoirí Farrell, Karan Casey, Narolane, the Carmillas, Tom Portman, the London Lasses, Finghin Collins, and London Symphony Orchestra.

This week’s edition includes music across traditional, folk, classical, hip hop, rock and pop. To submit your music, email newreleases [at]

Raelach Records have recently released Siúl na Slí, the debut album by Cork accordion and melodeon player Diarmuid Ó Meachair, winner of the TG4 Gradam Ceoil Young Musician of the Year 2022. The album includes a number of sets drawn from the playing of accordion player and composer Finbarr Dwyer as well tunes from the repertoire of John J. Kimmel, Peter Conlon and Noel Hill. The record also features Paddy McEvoy on piano, Ruairí McGorman on bouzouki, and Fergus McGorman on bones. Click on the image below to listen.

Dublin folk singer and bouzouki player Daoirí Farrell has announced that his fourth album The Wedding Above In Glencree will be released on 24 February, including the title track which has recently been released as a single (listen in our playlist below). The new ten-track album also features guest musicians Manus Lunny (guitar, bouzouki and bass bouzouki), Paddy Kiernan (5-string banjo), Mark Redmond (uilleann pipes and whistles), Pat Daly (fiddle and harmonium), Trevor Hutchinson (upright bass), Robbie Walsh (hand pan and bodhran), Alan Doherty (whistles), Geoff Kinsella (tenor banjo) and bluegrass dobro player Jerry Douglas. Pre-order the album and listen to the debut track on Bandcamp. 

Singer-songwriter Karan Casey has recently released the title track from her upcoming album Nine Apples of Gold, due for release on 24 February. The album was produced by long-term collaborator Seán Óg Graham and features a number of guest musicians including Niamh Dunne, Conor McCreanor, Kate Ellis, Pauline Scanlon, and Ríoghnach Connolly among others.  

Also recently released is Eb & Flow, the new album of instrumental improvisations from guitarist Tom Portman; LL25, the 25th anniversary album by folk group The London Lasses; The Bright Day is Done by pianist Finghin Collins, which features a range of composers including Robert Schumann, Clara Schumann, Eric Sweeney and Amy Beach; and the London Symphony Orchestra’s latest recording A New Dawn, which features works by Lili Boulanger, Joseph Bologne and Igor Stravinsky. 

Limerick rap collective Narolane, founded by Denise Chaila, MuRli and God Knows, recently released the four-track EP WALK, featuring indie singer and guitarist Ailbhe Reddy collaborating on ‘Chikondi’. Pop singer-songwriter Moncrieff has shared his latest release ‘Perfect’; and new rock band The Carmillas – fronted by Molly from punk duo Vulpynes and also featuring musicians and songwriters Peter O’Sullivan, Conor Brady, Niall Austin, and drummer Robbie Kelly – have shared their debut EP Portals. 

Listen to a playlist of all recent releases below. To submit your release, email newreleases [at]

Subscribe to our newsletter here.

Published on 4 January 2023

comments powered by Disqus